52 Planet Fitness Statistics on Membership, Clubs, Revenue, and Growth

Planet Fitness ended 2025 with approximately 20.8 million members and 2,896 clubs worldwide. The figures below distinguish membership, club growth, system-wide billings, consolidated company revenue, same-club performance, pricing, and management estimates or forecasts.

Key Planet Fitness Statistics

The most broadly useful Planet Fitness statistics are:

  • 20.8 million members belonged to the Planet Fitness system worldwide at December 31, 2025.
  • More than 650 million workouts were completed at Planet Fitness clubs worldwide during 2025.
  • Approximately 7.4% of Americans age 15 and older belonged to Planet Fitness at the end of 2025.
  • Approximately 35% of 2025 joins were made by former Planet Fitness members across the system.
  • 2,896 clubs were in the Planet Fitness system worldwide at the end of 2025.
  • 181 locations opened across the Planet Fitness system during 2025.
  • 2,445 franchised clubs and 277 corporate-owned clubs made up the 2,722-club system at December 31, 2024.
  • $1.2 billion in consolidated revenue was recorded by Planet Fitness in 2024.
  • $4.8 billion in system-wide sales were billed by Planet Fitness company and franchise clubs in 2024.
  • $174.243 million in GAAP net income was reported by Planet Fitness in 2024.
  • 5.0% system-wide same-club sales growth was reported for 2024.
  • $15 per month for the Classic Card was the U.S. starting price for new members in 2025.
  • $24.99 per month for the PF Black Card was the U.S. price for new members in 2025.
  • Approximately $1.9 million average unit volume was reported for eligible clubs operating more than 12 months in 2024.
  • Approximately 35.1% royalty-adjusted four-wall adjusted EBITDA margins were reported for eligible clubs in 2024 after a 7% royalty rate.
  • Approximately 900 clubs were committed under signed area development and franchise agreements at December 31, 2024.
  • 6% to 7% annual new-club unit growth was the management outlook for 2026–2028.

Contents

Planet Fitness reported approximately 19.7 million members worldwide at December 31, 2024, followed by approximately 20.8 million at December 31, 2025. The company describes both as approximate year-end membership totals, so they should not be treated as independently audited counts.

Planet Fitness, Inc. 2024 Form 10-K and the Planet Fitness, Inc. 2025 Annual Report provide the reported totals.

Measure Period Reported figure Population or geography
Members December 31, 2024 Approximately 19.7 million Planet Fitness system worldwide
Members December 31, 2025 20.8 million Planet Fitness system worldwide
Workouts 2025 More than 650 million Planet Fitness clubs
Workout change 2025 versus 2024 8% increase Planet Fitness clubs
U.S. penetration End of 2025 Approximately 7.4% Americans age 15 and older

The 2025 workout total rose 8% from 2024, although the cited company passage does not separately state the 2024 workout count. The penetration figure is a company estimate using Americans older than 14 as the denominator, not a measure of global membership penetration.

Approximately 35% of joins in 2025 came from former Planet Fitness members. That statistic measures the share of new joins identified as rejoining customers; it is not the same as retention or the proportion of the total member base that remained active.

Other 2025 member indicators include approximately $9 million in savings through PF Perks purchases and an estimated member base that was approximately 51% male. The PF Perks figure concerns purchase savings rather than membership-fee discounts, while the demographic estimate does not imply that the remaining members were all female because other or unknown categories may exist.

Planet Fitness Club Growth and International Footprint

Planet Fitness had 2,722 clubs at December 31, 2024 and 2,896 clubs at the end of 2025. The company reported 181 openings during 2025, while the 2024 year-end total followed 150 system-wide openings and reflected three debrandings, sales, or consolidations.

Period Beginning clubs Openings Ending clubs
2023 2,410 165 2,575
2024 2,575 150 2,722
2025 Not stated in the cited passage 181 2,896

The 2024 Form 10-K reported that 2024 openings included 129 franchisee-owned and 21 corporate-owned clubs. In 2023, openings included 147 franchisee-owned and 18 corporate-owned clubs.

At December 31, 2024, the system comprised 2,445 franchised clubs and 277 corporate-owned clubs. The franchised clubs were operated by 96 franchisee groups, and approximately 99% were owned and operated by groups with at least three clubs; the largest franchisee owned 196 clubs.

The Q1 2025 country snapshot in the 2025 Investor Day Presentation counted 2,585 clubs in the United States, 83 in Canada, 35 in Mexico, 24 in Australia, 7 in Panama, and 7 in Spain. These are Q1 2025 presentation figures, not year-end 2024 counts.

Planet Fitness Revenue, Sales, and Profitability Data

Planet Fitness reported $1.2 billion of consolidated revenue in 2024. This GAAP company measure differs from system-wide sales, which include monthly dues and annual-fee billings by both franchisee-owned and corporate-owned clubs.

Measure 2023 2024 Definition
System-wide sales $4.5 billion $4.8 billion Company and franchise club billings
Consolidated net income $147.035 million $174.243 million GAAP company measure
EBITDA $423.795 million $479.954 million Company reconciliation measure
Adjusted EBITDA $435.376 million $487.710 million Company-defined non-GAAP measure

In 2024, franchisee-owned clubs contributed $4.3 billion of system-wide sales, while corporate-owned clubs contributed $515.3 million. These are operating billings, not separate GAAP revenue figures recorded by Planet Fitness, Inc.

The 2024 Form 10-K reports the financial figures, with financial-statement amounts shown in thousands unless the filing states billions or millions in narrative text. EBITDA and adjusted EBITDA are not interchangeable with GAAP net income, and adjusted EBITDA uses the company’s own reconciliation.

Planet Fitness Same-Club Sales and Operating Performance

System-wide same-club sales increased 5.0% in 2024, compared with 8.7% in 2023. Planet Fitness defines the measure using clubs open and billing monthly dues for longer than 12 months; international figures use constant currency, and clubs affected by ownership changes are excluded for 12 months.

Same-club sales measure 2023 2024
System-wide 8.7% 5.0%
Franchisee-owned clubs 8.5% 5.2%
Corporate-owned clubs 10.1% 4.5%

The 2024 same-club base contained 2,296 franchisee-owned clubs and 253 corporate-owned clubs, for a total of 2,554 eligible clubs. Because newer clubs are excluded under the more-than-12-month billing rule, this base is not the full 2,722-club year-end system.

The 2024 Form 10-K notes that franchisee and corporate same-club sales are based solely on monthly dues billed, rather than total club revenue. That scope matters when comparing the percentages with consolidated revenue or system-wide sales.

Planet Fitness Prices, Access, and Club Format

For new U.S. members in 2025, the Classic Card started at $15 per month, while the PF Black Card was $24.99 per month. The cited prices are company-stated starting prices; taxes, fees, promotions, and franchise policies may vary by location.

Planet Fitness clubs are typically 20,000 square feet, a company estimate describing the format rather than a measured average for every club. Approximately 22% of U.S. clubs were located in areas deemed low income by the U.S. government in 2025, although the cited passage does not specify the precise government threshold.

Approximately 93% of members at corporate-owned clubs paid monthly dues by electronic funds transfer at December 31, 2024. That payment statistic applies to corporate clubs and should not be generalized to the entire franchised system.

The pricing and format information comes from the Planet Fitness, Inc. 2025 Annual Report, while the corporate-club payment figure is reported in the 2024 Form 10-K.

Planet Fitness Franchise Economics and Growth Outlook

In 2024, the franchise segment represented 35.8% of total company revenue, the corporate-owned club segment represented 42.5%, and the equipment segment represented 21.7%. These are revenue-mix percentages, not shares of system-wide sales or club-level spending.

Franchise operating measure 2024 figure Scope
Average unit volume Approximately $1.9 million Clubs operating more than 12 months
Four-wall adjusted EBITDA margin before current royalty Approximately 42.2% Eligible clubs
Royalty-adjusted four-wall adjusted EBITDA margin Approximately 35.1% Eligible clubs, after 7% royalty
Signed future-club commitments Approximately 900 clubs Area development and franchise agreements

The AUV and margin figures are company-defined estimates for eligible clubs, not averages for every Planet Fitness location and not GAAP margins. The royalty-adjusted margin applies the stated 7% royalty rate.

Planet Fitness had approximately 900 additional clubs committed under signed area development and franchise agreements at December 31, 2024. Contractual commitments are not the same as opened clubs or guaranteed future openings.

The company’s 2025 Investor Day outlook targeted 6% to 7% annual new-club unit growth from 2026 through 2028. This is management’s forecast, not an achieved result, and remains subject to execution and market conditions.

The franchise mix, club economics, and commitments are reported in the 2024 Form 10-K; the outlook is from the 2025 Investor Day Presentation.

Table of contents